Popular picture and an instant messaging app are here with a new feature that would interest many Instagram users. The App is updated with a feature that, lets you know whether your friends are online or not. Which is seen by many so far, as a welcome development.
It gives you the chance to see how much time your Instagram friends and followers spend online. In my opinion, it is an impressive feature, because it helps with instant messaging.
How to Use the New Feature on Instagram
In a case where you might want to DM a friend and expecting immediate response, this feature is for that purpose. It also allows you to know when followers are online.
Just like Facebook messenger, for instance, that shows ‘active’ if a friend or follower is online. While, on Instagram, it would show you a small green bubble next to their name, to let you know they are online.
So, when next, you see a small green bubble next to a friend or followers name in the DM section, know that they are online.
After Instagram announced their new feature recently, the announcement was backed with a reason. Which is to make it easier for users to chat within the app.
“This update gives you the ability to have more of those real-time conversations while giving you the control to hide your status altogether” the social media company stated in a recent blog post.
How to Deactivate the Feature
Even though, it makes chatting more immediate. It also makes users spend much time online messaging. Already, lots of Instagram users spend a lot of time viewing pictures and videos and also chatting with friends.
Adding this feature to it would make users spend more time online. Which might not be too good for some people. Especially for those that don’t want their friends or followers to know when they are online.
But luckily, you have the option of activating or deactivating the small green button through the ‘activity status’ on your main status.
Just go to the main settings on your Instagram App and to the ‘activity status’ then, disable the ‘activity status’. When your activity status has been disabled, your friends won’t be able to see whether you are online or not. You also won’t be able to see if your friends are online either.
Also, Read This For More Enlightenment.